Home   News   Article

Acclaimed Norwegian string quartet ready for Nairn date

By Federica Stefani

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
The Engegård String Quartet will travel to Nairn on Saturday 20 April.
The Engegård String Quartet will travel to Nairn on Saturday 20 April.

A renowned string quartet will travel from Norway to Nairn for an evening recital this month.

The distinguished Engegård String Quartet will return to the town on Saturday, April 20 for an evening recital as part of the Music Nairn concert series.

The quartet, formed by violinists Arvid Engegård and Laura Custodio Sabas, viola player Juliet Jopling and Jan Clemens Carlsen will bring the music of Mozart, Janáček, Fanny Mendelssohn and Maja Ratkje to Nairn Community & Arts Centre.

Amongst well-known works including Mozart’s Divertimento KV137 and Janáček's String Quartet No. 1 inspired by Leo Tolstoy's novella The Kreutzer Sonata, will be Fanny Mendelssohn’s less performed string quartet and living Norwegian composer Maja Ratkje’s A Tale of Lead and Light commissioned for the Engegård Quartet and whose source of musical inspiration is Beethoven's Quartet Op. 59, No. 1.

Formed under the midnight sun in Lofoten in 2005, the Engegård Quartet has rapidly become one of Norway's most sought after ensembles.

Their bold, fresh interpretations of the classical repertoire combined with a deep attachment to their Scandinavian roots has attracted international acclaim, and inspired some innovative partnerships and programming.

The concert will start at 7.30pm and tickets are available from Nairn Community and Arts Centre priced at £15.

Music Nairn’s 2023/24 concert series concludes on May 19 with a performance from the RSNO Piano Quartet.

For more details visit www.musicnairn.org.uk.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More