Home   News   Article

Millbank Primary pupils get award ceremony before school holidays

By Donald Wilson

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
Front Jennifer McMenamin, Sienna Clark, William Nicol and Meida Zvirblyte.
Front Jennifer McMenamin, Sienna Clark, William Nicol and Meida Zvirblyte.

TWO staff members with nearly a total of 40 years’ service to Millbank Primary presented the awards at the annual prize-giving before the school holidays.

Janice Gibson has retired having worked as a clerical assistant for 23 years at the school and teacher Mrs Pauline Thomson has moved on after 16 years at the school.

Headteacher Maria MacPherson acknowledged the success of pupils and the children of P7 were presented with calculators before moving to Nairn Academy. The Coronation Challenge Trophy was won by House champions St Ninian and Jennifer McMenamin received the George Souter Burma Cup for her commitment to the care of the school grounds and gardens.

n Other awards: Marion Mackay Trophy for Literacy – Meida Zvirblyte; Ellen McPherson Trophy for Endeavour – William Nicoll; Citizenship Cup – Sienna Clark. Sports Champions (Robertson cups): P4 Girls Amy Mackintosh, runner-up Eilidh Morran; Boys – Brodie Ross, runner-up Cameron Abenheimer; P5 Girls Abbie Smart, runner-up Iona Thompson; Boys – Moray Robertson, runner-up Mason Barclay; P6 Girls – Olivia Anderson, runner-up Esther MacLean; P7 (Anne Asher Cups) Girls Sienna Clark, runners-up Sophia Sinski and Emma Whitelaw; Boys Harrison MacKenzie, runners-up Robbie Alderson and Ewan Thomson.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More