Home   News   Article

Highland Council Election: Inverness South sees four experienced councillors elected including ward stalwarts Ken Gowans and Duncan Macpherson alongside Andrew Sinclair and Colin Aitken

By Scott Maclennan

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

In Brief

Those Elected (totals shown are for first preference votes):

Colin Aitken, Scottish Liberal Democrats – 478

Ken Gowans, Scottish National Party (SNP) – 1949

Duncan Macpherson, Independent – 1375

Andrew Sinclair, Scottish Conservative and Unionist –936

Those Not Elected:

Jimmy Duncan, Alba Party for independence – 104

Claire Filer, Scottish Greens – 299

David Jardine, Scottish Labour Party – 402

Main Issues: local democracy, transport, local economy, services, potholes

Inverness South has elected two incumbents in ward stalwarts Ken Gowans (SNP) and Duncan Macpherson (Independent) alongside two newer faces.

Conservative Andrew Sinclair previously represented Wick and East Caithness while Colin Aitken won a by-election to become an Inverness West councillor.

The final tallies given represent the first preference votes before the Single Transferable Vote System calculations are made – to understand how the system works click here.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More