Home   News   Article

All Highland candidates for the 2019 General Election officially declared

By Scott Maclennan

Get the Inverness Courier sent to your inbox every week and swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper

All the Highland candidates for the UK General Election 2019 have been confirmed.

There will be a total of 18 candidates seeking election on December 12 for the three UK parliamentary constituencies.

The UK’s most northerly mainland constituency Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross has attracted a total of five candidates.

The Scottish Liberal Democrats’ Jamie Stone is the incumbent with the SNP’s choice is councillor Karl Rosie expected to run him close alongside his Highland Council colleague Andrew Sinclair for the Conservatives.

Recently entering the race was Cheryl Ann Mcdonald for Scottish Labour Party, who took up the ticket after her predecessor Bill Curran was deselected amid a storm over allegedly anti-Semitic tweets while the Brexit Party will field Sandra Skinner.

While just to the south, the country’s largest constituency by geographical area Ross, Skye and Lochaber has six candidates all aiming to unseat current MP and SNP’s prominent Westminster leader Ian Blackford.

From the traditional parties, the Conservatives’ Gavin Berkenheger previously ran the SNP close for Highland Council’s ward five seat. Lib Dem Craig Harrow has been on the campaign trail for some time already as has Labour’s John Erskine.

Those recently making their presence known are the Brexit Party’s Kate Brownlie and two less well-known parties the Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship” which has fielded Donald MacLeod Boyd while the Scottish Family Party – Putting Families First have sent in Richard Crewe Lucas.

Finally, the Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey constituency has six candidates including SNP incumbent Drew Hendry.

Aiming to replace him in Westminster are the Greens' Ariane Claire Burgess, Les Durance of the Brexit Party and the Conservative party’s Fiona Fawcett.

Cllr Denis Rixson who was has been in Highland Council since April 2018 will represent the Lib Dems and Lewis Whyte will go door to door for the Scottish Labour Party.

The voting for the General Election will take place on December 12 with polling stations across the Highlands open from 7am-10pm. The votes will be counted overnight at Inverness Leisure.

Get a digital copy of the Inverness Courier delivered straight to your inbox every week allowing you to swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper - it looks just like it does in print!


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More