Home   Sport   Article

Highland Wildcats celebrate at Blitz Awards

By Staff Reporter

Contribute to support quality local journalism

Highland Wildcats held their annual Blitz Awards last weekend, with four new inductees into their Hall of Fame.

Highland Wildcats' Alex Roberts. Picture: Gair Fraser. Image No. 041890
Highland Wildcats' Alex Roberts. Picture: Gair Fraser. Image No. 041890

Alex Roberts, Dean Brannen, Cameron Scott and Cameron Fortey were chosen for their dedication to the Wildcats as well as their on-field performances in their time with the club.

It was a good night for Roberts in particular, who was also named overall MVP with Nathan Falconer, and offensive MVP alongside Matthew Johnston.

“We thought they each brought a unique thing to it,” Wiildcats’ head coach Robbie Paulin explained.

“Alex was mainly focused on offence but some of the runs he has had have been spectacular. This year he had a completely perfect attendance, which is so hard to do, no matter how dedicated you are.

“We’re saying that it was an unbroken dedication to the team, but in 2017 he didn’t have much of a choice after he dislocated his hip.

“I think what really made that special was that he had an injury that could have taken him out completely, but he came back in 2018 and probably had his two best seasons, which was really impressive.”

The defensive MVP awards went to Cameron Scott, Efem Demirel and Kieran Gebicke-Kerr.

Charlie Chambers and Jack Chisholm were named most improved players of the year, while Aaron Melville won rookie of the season.

There were also volunteer awards, with Ally Gibson taking young coach of the year.

Michael Home won the Bette Paulin Award for Outstanding Contribution, Cameron Oag received the Blitz achievement award while back on the pitch, Aimee Bright was the #GameChanger.

Sean McWilliams, Jarlath Riley, Lewis Robertson, Adam Kinvig, Corey Hall and Adrian Gorzycki were all named impact players.

Ian Correa took home the best leader award and Brandon Kinvig, Callum Wilson, Efem Demirel, Jamie Loughren, Alex Roberts, Alen Biju, Kai Macleod, James Nairn all won dedication quicks.

“It was really good, I don’t know whether I just always overthink things, I had thought I didn’t put as much into this years’ one, but a lot of people said it was their favourite awards, so I was really happy with that,” Paulin added.

“There seemed to be a lot of people crying – in a good way – so I think it went really well.”

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More