Home   Sport   Article

Who has reached the last 16 of the Inverness Four Day Open?

By Will Clark

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
Ruairidh Greenwood from Inverness. Picture: James Mackenzie
Ruairidh Greenwood from Inverness. Picture: James Mackenzie

The Inverness Four Day Open has reached the last-16 stage as the matchplay stages begins today.

Boat of Garten head greenkeeper Jordan Shaw led the scratch section qualifiers with an excellent two round total of 135 (66, 69) and will play Michael Mitchell in the first round.

Second seed Jamie Whittet will play Robert Gray with the winner facing either Ruairidh Greenwood or Andrew Hutchison of the home club.

Three previous winners, Paul Savage, John Forbes and David Joel made it through to the matchplay stages as well as last year’s runner up, Lewis Reid of Fortrose and Rosemarkie.

Scratch First Round Matches

Jordan Shaw v Michael Mitchell (8am)

Connor Hall v David Joel (8.08am)

Ross Naismith v Graham Gunn (8.15am)

Paul Savage v Greg Bennett (8.23am)

John Forbes v Alan Macintosh (8.30am)

Lewis Reid v Andrew Ross (8.38am)

Ruairidh Greenwood v Andrew Hutchison (8.45am)

Jamie Whittet v Robert Gray (8.53am)

In handicap Section 1, last year’s winner of the Johnstone Trophy James Greenwood qualified and will automatically go in as top seed against Keith Ross. Andrew Crichton led the qualifying and will go second seed against Brian Davidson.

Section One First Round Matches

James Greenwood v Keith Ross (9am)

Kieran Rorison v Calum Findlay (9.08am)

Alan Imrie v Dougie Gordon (9.15am)

John Fox v Donald Sinclair (9.23am)

David Walker v Steven McCabe (9.30am)

Duncan McGrouther v Andy Philip (9.38am)

Kian Ross v Neil Uruqhart (9.45am)

Andrew Crichton v Brian Davidson (9.53am)

Ben MacDonald led the qualifying for Section 2 and will start his quest for the Tom Sutherland Trophy against Ruairi Benson.

Section Two First Round Matches

Ben MacDonald v Ruairi Benson (10am)

John Morrison v John Clark (10.08am)

Graham Nicolson v Liam Hutchison (10.15am)

Callum Grant v Colin Harper (10.23am)

Alan Lowe v Christopher Day (10.30am)

Neil Mackenzie v Alan Kerr (10.38am)

Mike Cormack v Seth Anderson (10.45am)

Andrew Findlater v James McAllan (10.53 am)

Michael Martin will start his defence of the Fraser Smith Trophy as top seed in Section 3, facing Alan Innes. Leading qualifier Willie Chisholm takes second seed and will play tournament Chairman Barry Gunn in the last of the morning matches.

Section Three First Round Matches

Michael Martin v Alan Innes (11am)

Alan Johnstone v Gordon Mackenzie (11.08am)

Alan Kinnaird v Ian Doughty (11.15am)

Alan Savage v John Miller (11.23am)

Alex Elliott v Gokay Deveci (11.30am)

John Howie v Hugh Chisholm (11.38am)

Tom Purves v Graeme McKimmie (11.45am)

Willie Chisholm v Barry Gunn (11.53am)

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More