Houston was down but not out against Dalby
Ross Houston insists there was still a way back into last weekend’s world title fight had the referee not stepped in, even though he had a broken nose and a broken hand.
The Hitman was defending the Cage Warriors welterweight world championship in a title unification bout with interim champion, Nicolas Dalby.
Houston took the early advantage, but the momentum had started to swing against the Inverness fighter when referee Marc Goddard stepped in.
Both fighters had lost a lot of blood, and Goddard ruled that the canvas of the octagon had become unsafe to compete on, so called the match off as a no contest.
But Houston believes he would have regained the upper hand, and reiterated his post-fight call for a rematch.
“The fight was stopped halfway through the third round, the exact midway point of the fight, but I trained for a five-round fight,” Houston said.
“The fight’s not over until it’s over. In the last 10 or 15 seconds before the referee stepped in, there was a scramble."
Read more in today's Highland News.