Home   Sport   Article

Houston was down but not out against Dalby


By Andrew Henderson


Ross Houston insists there was still a way back into last weekend’s world title fight had the referee not stepped in, even though he had a broken nose and a broken hand.

The Hitman was defending the Cage Warriors welterweight world championship in a title unification bout with interim champion, Nicolas Dalby.

Ross Houston is still Cage Warriors world welterweight champion after his fight with Nicolas Dalby was ruled a no contest due to an unsafe fighting surface after it was covered in blood. Picture: Dolly Clew/Cage Warriors
Ross Houston is still Cage Warriors world welterweight champion after his fight with Nicolas Dalby was ruled a no contest due to an unsafe fighting surface after it was covered in blood. Picture: Dolly Clew/Cage Warriors

Houston took the early advantage, but the momentum had started to swing against the Inverness fighter when referee Marc Goddard stepped in.

Both fighters had lost a lot of blood, and Goddard ruled that the canvas of the octagon had become unsafe to compete on, so called the match off as a no contest.

But Houston believes he would have regained the upper hand, and reiterated his post-fight call for a rematch.

“The fight was stopped halfway through the third round, the exact midway point of the fight, but I trained for a five-round fight,” Houston said.

“The fight’s not over until it’s over. In the last 10 or 15 seconds before the referee stepped in, there was a scramble."

Read more in today's Highland News.



This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More