Home   Sport   Article

Two Glenurquhart players and one Beauly youngster named in Scotland shinty squad for annual Tour of Ireland next month

By Andrew Henderson

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

The Camanachd Association have announced which players will be taking part in this year’s Tour of Ireland.

Over the last 20 years a squad of under-17s has annually crossed the sea to play shinty/hurling challenge matches against their Irish counterparts.

This year the Scottish squad will travel to Dublin on July 21, with their return set for July 24.

RICruden are once again sponsoring the Scotland under-17 shinty team for their 2024 Tour of Ireland in July. Picture: Neil Paterson
RICruden are once again sponsoring the Scotland under-17 shinty team for their 2024 Tour of Ireland in July. Picture: Neil Paterson

Three Inverness-area players have been named in the 18-player squad, two from Glenurquhart and one from Beauly.

Charlie MacRae is the sole representative from Beauly this time around, joined by Glenurquhart duo Alfie MacLeod and Daniel MacLean.

National development manager at the Camanachd Association, Ronald Ross, commented: “Over the past 12 months, the standard of Under-17 shinty has been impressive.

“The members of this squad have demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication, reflecting the high calibre of young talent in our sport.

“We are excited to see them take on this challenge and believe they will represent Scotland admirably in Ireland.”

The Scotland squad will once again be sponsored by RICruden, an established mechanical and renewable business who are based in the Highlands.

Callum Cruden, director of RICruden, said: ”We’re delighted to support shinty and the Camanachd Association’s commitment to developing the sport at grassroots level for another year.

“This collaboration embodies a shared vision of empowering young people and a commitment to the local community which is reflected in RI Cruden’s award winning renewable energy apprenticeship programme.

“We look forward to supporting the squad as they set their sights on achieving great things this July.”

2024 Scotland U17 squad

Charlie MacRae – Beauly

Auryn Kerr – Col Glen

Arran Stephen – Fort William

Archie MacKinnon – Fort William

Alfie MacLeod – Glenurquhart

Daniel MacLean – Glenurquhart

Shane O’Rua – Kilmallie

Fergus Sherlock – Kingussie

Sam Thain – Kingussie

Calum MacMillan – Kinlochshiel

Kieran Martin – Kinlochshiel

Kyle Clark – Newtonmore

Joe Coyle – Newtonmore

Tristan Ross – Newtonmore

Matthew Sloss – Oban Camanachd

Alexander MacDonald – Oban Camanachd

Ewen Campbell – Oban Celtic

Archie Millar – Skye

Seonaidh-Alex MacLeod – Skye

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More