Home   News   Article

14 candidates to contest the two Highland constituencies in UK government General Election

By Philip Murray

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
Voting takes place on July 4.
Voting takes place on July 4.

Fourteen candidates will contest the two Westminster seats in the Highland Council area in the upcoming General Election.

The deadline to stand as a candidate expired today (Friday), and the region’s returning officer has now released the final list of candidates.

Seven will be standing in each of the seats - Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross; and Inverness, Skye and West Ross-shire.

The constituency candidates are as follows:

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

- Lucy BEATTIE - Scottish National Party (SNP)

- Steve CHISHOLM - Alba Party: Yes to Scottish Independence

- Fiona FAWCETT - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

- Eva KESTNER - Scottish Labour Party

- Sandra SKINNER - Reform UK

- Jamie STONE - Scottish Liberal Democrats

- Anne THOMAS - Scottish Greens

Inverness, Skye, and West Ross-shire

- Drew HENDRY - Scottish National Party (SNP)

- Dillan HILL - Reform UK

- Angus MACDONALD - Scottish Liberal Democrats

- Peter NEWMAN - Scottish Greens

- Darren PAXTON - Socialist Equality Party

- Michael PERERA - Scottish Labour Party

- Ruraidh STEWART - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Meanwhile, the returning officer has also set out how to register to vote, cast you ballot by post or proxy and the requirements for voter ID.

To vote in the 2024 election you must be aged 18 or over and your name must be on the electoral register. You can register to vote online at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote. If you’re already registered to vote and haven’t moved since, you don’t need to re-register. The registration deadline is midnight on Tuesday, June 18.

Anyone who would like more information on registering can get in touch with the Electoral Registration Officer, Moray House, 16-18 Bank Street, Inverness IV1 1QY. Visit: www.saa.gov.uk/h-wi-vjb; Phone: 0800 393783 or Email: ero@highland.gov.uk.

In this election you can opt to vote in person, by proxy or by post. The deadline to apply for a new postal vote or a postal proxy application or to change an existing postal or proxy vote is by 5pm on Wednesday, June 19. The deadline to apply for a proxy vote to appoint someone to vote on your behalf at a polling station is 5pm on Wednesday, June 26.

You can apply online for a postal vote at www.gov.uk/apply-postal-vote or proxy vote at www.gov.uk/apply-proxy-vote. If you need assistance contact the Electoral Registration Officer.

For the first time, electors voting in person at a polling station will need to show photographic ID to vote in the General Election. Electors are being advised to make sure they are ready to vote by checking they have an accepted form of ID.

Voting takes place on July 4.
Voting takes place on July 4.

Accepted forms of ID include a passport, driving licence, older persons or disabled persons bus pass, and Young Scot card. The full list and further information can be viewed on Highland Council’s website at www.highland.gov.uk/info/799/elections_and_voting/1116/voter_ids_for_future_uk_general_elections. Voters will be able to use expired ID if they are still recognisable from their photo.

Anyone who does not have one of the accepted forms of ID can apply for free Voter ID online by visiting - https://voter-authority-certificate.service.gov.uk or by contacting their local Electoral Registration Office. The deadline to apply for free Voter ID is 5pm on Wednesday, June 26. Voters wishing to apply should first make sure they are registered to vote.

Voting in the General Election will take place on Thursday, July 4. Polling stations across the Highlands will be open from 7am to 10pm.

The votes will be counted overnight at the Highland Football Academy in Dingwall. Live coverage from the count, including the two declarations will be available on YouTube using this link https://www.youtube.com/live/RpW5LbFIbNg and also on the council’s social media channels @HighlandCouncil.

Further information on the UK parliamentary election can be viewed on the council’s website at www.highland.gov.uk/ge2024.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More