Home   News   Article

Voters in Inverness West ward urged to 'make vote count' at by-election

By John Davidson

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
The votes take place on August 12.
The votes take place on August 12.

Voters are being urged to 'make their vote count' in the forthcoming by-election for the Inverness West ward.

Polling will take place on Thursday, August 12, to elect one of seven candidates standing in the Highland Council vote, while voters in the far north will also be selecting one of five candidates standing in the Wick and East Caithness ward.

The deadline to register to take part and to apply for a postal vote has passed, and the council is now reminding voters to make sure they are ready to make their vote count.

Postal packs will be despatched by Royal Mail on Tuesday, August 3, to those registered electors that have submitted a form by the postal vote deadline. Further guidance on how to complete your postal pack is available on the video below:


For those opting to vote in person on the day of poll, polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on August 12.

Voters are reminded that the single transferable vote system will be used. Instead of using a cross, voters should number the candidates in the order of their choice, putting a number 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate who is their first choice, 2 in the box next to their second choice and so on.

Voters can mark as many choices as they wish. Voters are asked to put no other mark on the ballot paper as this could result in their vote not being counted.

The seven candidates standing in the Inverness West ward by-election are Colin Aitken, Scottish Liberal Democrats; Max Bannerman, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Iain Cullens Forsyth, Independence for Scotland Party; Calum Mark Liptrot, Scottish Libertarian Party; Ryan Mackintosh, Scottish Green Party; Kate Maclean, Scottish National Party; and Duncan McDonald, Independent.

Those in the Wick and East Caithness ward are Michael James Cameron, Scottish National Party; Harry Christian, Scottish Libertarian Party; Bill Fernie, Independent; Daniel Ross, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; and Jill Tilt, Scottish Liberal Democrats.

The election count for both by-elections will take place in Inverness on Friday, August 13.

Further information about these two by-elections, including answers to frequently asked questions, is available at www.highland.gov.uk/byelection

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More