Home   News   Article

Volunteers receive honours at Highland Third Sector Awards

By Staff Reporter

All of the winners in this year’s Highland Third Sector Awards.
All of the winners in this year’s Highland Third Sector Awards.

VOLUNTEERS from across the area were among the big winners at this year’s Highland Third Sector Awards.

The flagship awards ceremony celebrates the efforts of volunteers, community groups and voluntary organisations in the Highlands.

Muir of Ord Development Trust were among this year’s winners, after being named the Social Enterprise of the Year.

The trust has enjoyed significant success in recent times, after bringing the Muir Hub and village hall to life after it sat unused for years.

They were one of 13 winners in categories ranging from youth volunteer of the year to third sector organisation of the year.

The ceremony was held recently at Strathpeffer Pavilion, and was attended by around 120 guests. The awards were presented by Kirsty Ewen, who is a Sport Scotland Ambassador and winner of last year’s BBC Scotland’s Get Inspired unsung hero award.

Mhairi Wylie, chief officer, Highland Third Sector, said: “Volunteers and voluntary organisations play an invaluable role in every community in the Highlands and we want to recognise the tremendous work they do while giving them the thanks they so richly deserve.”

Other big winners included Shona Beveridge, who was named youth volunteer of the year for her role volunteering with the Care and Learning Alliance at an out of school club.

Linda Kerr and Graeme Watson, of Befrienders Highland, were named the joined winners of the volunteer of the year title.

Befrienders Highland was also named the third sector organisation of the year for creating a person-centred organisation, committed to supporting and raising awareness of people with mental ill health issues. It has 140 volunteers across the Highlands.

The outstanding achievement award was jointly shared – by Alyson Smith, the founder and manager of Lochaber Hope and Karrie Marshall, the director and chief officer of Creativity in Care.

n For the full list of winners in this year’s awards, go to www.inverness-courier.co.uk

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More