Home   News   Article

Pupils celebrated at end-of-year Nairn Academy Awards

By Federica Stefani

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
Murray Donald, George Hibberd and Callum Hill.
Murray Donald, George Hibberd and Callum Hill.

A celebration of different types of achievement has been held at a Nairn secondary school, one including an appearance from Scottish strongman Tom Stoltman.

Hundreds of pupils from across Nairn Academy have been recognised for their efforts in academia, sport and leadership, commitment and for their contribution to the school community.

In the most recent ceremony, S6 pupil Callum Hill was given the honour of becoming the Nairn Academy Dux. Callum, a straight A student, hopes to begin a degree in dentistry at the University of Glasgow in September.

Fellow S6 pupil, Murray Donald was awarded Proxime Accessit, an accolade recognising outstanding attainment.

The latest event was led by Nairn Academy headteacher Julie MacDonald and was attended by two former pupils, Jo Fitzpatrick and Dr Abigail Hay who gave inspirational speeches about their own experiences at Nairn Academy and beyond.

Pupils from Nairn Academy celebrate their award success.
Pupils from Nairn Academy celebrate their award success.

Another highlight of the evening was the Spirit of Nairn Awards which were introduced three years ago by a former pupil.

These awards recognise pupils whose attitude, kindness, courage and care make them stand out. Pupils were nominated by staff, fellow pupils and local community members.

The winners of these awards which are sponsored by local businesses and are awarded to two pupils from each year group were: Lexie Fleming and Isabella Leith, Tom Rhind, Freya Charters, Davey General, Zach Hanna, Alistair MacPherson, Rylan Lawrence MacAskill, Abigail Thomas, Freddie Glenister, Megan MacKinlay, Ruth Hamilton and Grace McConachie.

Lochlan Hodge.
Lochlan Hodge.

Another poignant award was the Tom Heggie Award which was given to S4 Carly Green.

The award is in honour of the late Tom Heggie who was a maths teacher at Nairn Academy. He then went on to become a minister in the community and stood as a local councillor.

Presenting the award to Carly was depute head teacher Sarah Abenheimer who said: “The award in Tom’s name is given to a young person who has come a long way during their time in the Academy, someone whose journey may have been less smooth. From the moment she arrived in S1, Carly always had a spark about her, although she often felt she didn’t belong. However, Carly is an able pupil and has worked hard to face a number of challenges. She is loyal, brave, kind and caring. She has been a great buddy to our new S1s and this award is so very well deserved.”

Earlier in the month, the school hosted the Celebration of Sport and Leadership awards attended by special guest Tom Stoltman.

The event was hosted by Highlife Highland Young Ambassadors Alexander Dudley and Jessica Macpherson.

Lochlan Hodge was announced as Nairn Academy’s Sports Personality of the year and also won the Stevie Park Award for Performance in Physical Education.

Jo Fitzpatrick and Dr Abigail Hay former pupils and guest speakers.
Jo Fitzpatrick and Dr Abigail Hay former pupils and guest speakers.

At the end of May an awards ceremony for the S1 and S2 pupils was also held recognising the commitment and attainment of young people in Broad General Education.

Speaking about the events to honour and recognise the pupils, headteacher Julie MacDonald said: “I wish to congratulate every single pupil who has been recognised over the last few weeks at the school. We have a fantastic community at Nairn Academy and that was reflected in the broad range of accomplishments that the pupils have made.

“This year we have had a big focus on revisiting our values to see if they are still relevant and a true reflection of what it means to be part of Team Nairn, thinking about what is important to us, what type of school community we want for our pupils, families and staff. Our values review also looked at what we want when we get our new building in August 2026. These values are now, ‘kindness, respect, relationships, integrity and achievement,’ and again what was shown through the awards, is that so many of our pupils are already embracing these.”

Mrs MacDonald added: “There was also a focus at the awards on our school motto, ‘Together We Will Succeed,” particularly in the speeches given by our former pupils. Our motto still reflects our aims as a school where we continue to work with others to enable all our pupils to achieve success in whatever way. Through life we will see the benefits of teamwork making best use of everyone’s ideas, talents, skills and experiences. Where our values have been updated, our motto remains as a strong focus for us where we all work together for the benefit of our pupils.”

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More