Home   News   Article

Polling stations close after the country voted in the 2019 General Election

By Scott Maclennan

Polls have just closed across the UK in the 2019 General Election with the Inverness, Nairn, Strathspey and Badenoch expected to be the first Highland constituency to declare just after 3am.

The seat has been projected as a SNP hold for Drew Hendry while nationally the Conservatives are expected to remain in government.

Six candidates in total entered the race for the constituency including from each of the four major parties, one from the Greens and one from the Brexit Party.

Now the Greens’ Ariane Claire Burgess, the Brexit Party’s Les Durance, Fiona Gay Fawcett from the Conservatives, Drew Hendry on the SNP ticket, Robert Denis James Rixson from the Liberal Democrats and Labour’s Lewis Ian Whyte will anxiously await the results.

For that to happen 119 ballot boxes will be rushed to the count at Inverness Leisure Centre where simultaneously votes from the two other Highland constituencies – Skye, Ross and Lochaber and Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross – will also be tallied.

The count will be overseen by Highland Council chief executive Donna Manson supported by members of her top team of 18 top staff.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More