Home   News   Article

By-election: Where to vote in Highland Council's Inverness Central ward

By Andrew Dixon

Contribute to support quality local journalism

Voting for the Inverness Central Ward by-election gets under way with polling stations opening from 7am-10pm.

Anyone who has applied for a postal vote and has not posted it can submit their ballot paper at a polling station during the vote on November 14.

The polling stations are located at:

  • Merkinch Community Centre
  • Trinity Church Hall
  • James Cameron Community Centre
  • The Spectrum Centre
  • Haugh Court Hall
  • St Stephen’s Church Hall
  • Hilton Primary School

The count will take place on November 15.

There are six candidates standing:

  • Russell Deacon – Scottish Green Party
  • Mary Dormer – Scottish liberal Democrats
  • Ardalan Eghtedar – Scottish Labour Party
  • Rachael Hatfield – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Richie Paxton – Independent
  • Emma Roddick – Scottish National Party (SNP)

Voters are reminded that the single transferable vote system will be used. Instead of using a cross, voters should number the candidates in the order of their choice, putting a number one in the box next to the name of the candidate who is their first choice, two in the box next to their second choice and so on. Voters can mark as many choices as they wish.

Related article: Inverness Central candidates in Highland Council by-election explain why they want your vote

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More