Home   News   Article

Celebrate your care and health heroes

By Features Reporter

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

The health hero from the 2019 awards was Jenny Mackay. Picture: Gary Anthony
The health hero from the 2019 awards was Jenny Mackay. Picture: Gary Anthony

Throughout Highland communities there are those special people who quietly go about supporting others through providing care to a family member or loved one or dedicating themselves to the healthcare service.

We think these incredible people are deserving of the highest praise and recognition, and we’re sure you do too!

We are asking you to nominate the care and healthcare heroes in your community for a Highland Heroes 2022 award. The carer of the year will be an individual who cares for a loved one and who has made personal sacrifices in order to tend to the needs of others.

The award for healthcare hero of the year will be given to an individual within the healthcare sector who has provided a service above and beyond the call of duty, improving or making an impact on the quality of life for others.

The award for carer of the year is sponsored by Scotia Homes.

Scotia Homes managing director, Martin Bruce said: “We’re delighted and honoured to support Highland Heroes 2022 by sponsoring the award for carer of the year.

"Carers have always been on the frontline and even more so throughout the pandemic, providing care and support for the most vulnerable and frail in our communities.

"So many families and individuals would be completely lost without the support of their carer, whether that carer is a family member or a professional.

"So many carers go above and beyond what is asked of them and we are inspired by their commitment and dedication in providing such exceptional standards of care.

"Highland Heroes will rightly shine a light on these people and go some way to recognising and thanking them for their phenomenal efforts.”

The healthcare hero award is sponsored by Macleod Roofing.

Sandy Macleod, managing director of Macleod Roofing, sponsor of the healthcare hero award.
Sandy Macleod, managing director of Macleod Roofing, sponsor of the healthcare hero award.

Managing director Sandy Macleod is delighted to support the Highland Heroes campaign once again: “This is the third time we have supported Highland Heroes and we are delighted to sponsor the healthcare hero award.

"The pandemic has been so challenging for the healthcare service, particularly those on the frontline in our hospitals and care homes – and they are still battling coronavirus as well as dealing with all the other demands on the health service.

“We are so fortunate to have such amazing people look after us in normal times but during the pandemic they were simply outstanding and they deserve more thanks than we could ever give.

"A Heroes award will go some way to show how much we support and thank our healthcare heroes for all they have done and are still doing.”

For Highland Heroes 2022 there are 14 main categories:

  • Brave child
  • Volunteer
  • Charitable organisation
  • Fundraiser
  • Carer
  • Primary pupil
  • Primary teacher
  • Secondary pupil
  • Secondary teacher
  • Community champion
  • School of the year
  • Emergency services or armed forces hero
  • Public servant
  • Healthcare hero

Read about the awards for brave child of the year; primary pupil and teacher of the year; charitable organisation of the year; community champion and volunteer of the year; school of the year; the emergency services or armed forces hero; and the secondary school pupil and teacher of the year.

Nominate any of your Heroes at www.hnmedia.co.uk/highlandheroes

Once all of your nominations are submitted, a judging panel will create a shortlist which will go before a public vote to choose the Highland Heroes 2022.

There is also a special award, the hero of heroes, which will be chosen from all of the award winners and announced at the awards ceremony.

The event will take place at the Kingsmills Hotel, Inverness on Thursday, March 24.

Nominations close on Friday, January 14.

Who will you nominate?
Who will you nominate?

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More