Published: 09/05/2011 20:00 - Updated: 09/05/2011 17:09

SNP appoint new leader for Highland Council group

Written byAndy Dixon

Drew Hendry is the Highland Council SNP group's new leader.
Drew Hendry is the Highland Council SNP group's new leader.

AIRD and Loch Ness councillor Drew Hendry has been appointed the SNP’s new group leader on Highland Council.

At a special meeting of Highland nationalists earlier today he was elected to the post.

Councillor Hendry will replace Councillor John Finnie, who became a list MSP for the Highlands and Islands at the Scottish Elections last week.

"It is a great honour to have been asked to lead this exceptional group of councillors who have proved time and time again that they are tireless champions for their communities and great contributors to committees," Councillor Hendry said.

Badenoch and Strathspey councillor Dave Fallows will take over councillor Jean Urquhart’s deputy leader role after she was also elected to be a regional MSP.

The SNP dominated the Highland region at the polls with all three seats won by nationalists — Fergus Ewing (Inverness and Nairn), Dave Thompson (Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch) and Rob Gibson (Caithness and Sutherland).

"It’s a big positive that we will be able to continue our work seamlessly," Councillor Hendry added.

"We will now have the opportunity to achieve even more by working closely with John and Jean and our three constituency MSPs."

Neither Councillor Finnie nor Councillor Urquhart have resigned from their council seats.

• Find out more about the SNP MSPs plans for the region in The Inverness Courier tomorrow.

< Back


Reddit Facebook Digg Twitter Bebo