Published: 14/06/2017 17:00 - Updated: 14/06/2017 17:03

Ian Blackford elected group leader for SNP at Westminster

Written byEmma Crichton

Ian Blackford, SNP, Westminster
Ian Blackford.

HIGHLAND MP Ian Blackford has been elected as the new SNP group leader at Westminster.

The Ross, Skye and Lochaber representative replaces Angus Robertson, who lost his Moray seat in last week's general election.

Mr Blackford was up against Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey MP Drew Hendry and Joanna Cherry, MP for Edinburgh South West. Edinburgh East MP Tommy Sheppard withdrew from the running due to lack of support.

As the Westminster leader of the third largest party in the House of Commons, Mr Blackford will have the opportunity to question Theresa May every Wednesday during Prime Minister's Questions.

Announcing his success, Mr Blackford said: "I am delighted to be elected SNP group leader at Westminster. It is a pleasure to follow my friend Angus Robertson.

"It is an honour to lead such a talented team, the third largest in parliament."

He was congratulated on Twitter by Mr Hendry, who said: "Congratulations to my very good friend and new group leader.

"Strong, focused leadership for the SNP Westminster group, well done."

< Back


Reddit Facebook Digg Twitter Bebo